5 Books You Must Read If You Love Indian Mythology!

Indian Mythology is full of intriguing stories. The old manuscripts hold many mysteries of religion and humanity. The mystical stories have been read an told over and over but every time you read them, they illuminate a new sense. There are numerous writers who have endeavor to spark these mythological with their presumptive angle keeping the facts intact to it. Their talent of storytelling amalgamated with mythic cults allows you have a different outlook on religious history.

If you are one of those bibliophiles, who possess the love for fiction merged with unusual yet interesting takes in Mythological origin then we have a list that is just perfect for you. Some of the courageous authors have mixed their imagination with mythology and presented the best fiction you could ever read.

1. The Shiva Trilogy by Amish Tripathi

image source: assets.rbl.ms
image source: assets.rbl.ms

This is by far the most popular series on Indian Mythology of recent times. The writer has presented the great Lord Shiva and Goddess Sati in human forms and the description of their story is just unimaginable.

2. Karna’s wife: The Outcast’s Queen by Kavita Kane

image source: idiva.com
image source: idiva.com

The brilliant take on the life of the Urvi who was the wife of the unsung hero of the Mahabharata, Karana. You will be amazed by the imagination of the author.

3. Asura: The Tale of the Vanquished by Anand Neelakantan

image source: asura.co.in
image source: asura.co.in

Anand Neelakantan reveals the view of Ravana about the whole Ramayana and it’s simply splendid. How the biggest villain of Hindu mythology sees it all, is gets interesting with every page.

4. The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

image source: gr-assets.com
image source: gr-assets.com

This book is an exquisite blend of fiction and facts. You will get to see the whole Mahabharatha from the point of view of Draupadi and it will tug your heart. The best part of the book is that it explains the purity of the bond Krishna and Draupadi had.

5. The Krishna Key by Ashwin Sanghi

image source: assets.rbl.ms
image source: assets.rbl.ms

It is said that Lord Krishna had promised that he would return to the mortal world in Kalyug and Ashwin has beautifully carved the tale of a boy who grew up believing that he is the final avatar of Lord Krishna.

All of these books are worth making it to your must read list. Read and lose yourself in the world of magic, powers, and Gods.

25 August 2017
Avni S. Singh